				17	22	37	41	42&43		
State Tax Form 96	The Commonwealth	n of Massachusetts			Asse	essors' l	Use onl	ly		
Revised 7/2015					Date Received					
					Application No.					
Name of City or Town Parcel Id.					l Id.					
	NIOR SURVIVING SPOUSI AL YEAR APPLICAT General Law									
	THIS APPLICATION IS NOT (See General La	OPEN TO PUBLIC INSI ws Chapter 59, § 60)	PECTION							
		R	eturn to:	Boa	rd of	Assess	ors			
		Must be filed								
		or 3 months mailed for fi		•	-	iminar	y) tax	bills are		
		11101100110111	30011 y 0011 11	10.001						
	all sections that apply. If you			atego:	ry, yo	u will 1	receive	e the		
exemption that provides the	greatest amount of assistance.	Please print or type	2.							
A. IDENTIFICATION. Com	plete this section fully.									
			21.1							
Telephone Number			Marital Status Mailing Address (If different)							
Legal Residence (Donniche)	on july 1,	waning .	Address (if	airrere	ent)					
No. Street	City/Town Z	ip Code			1					
Location of Property:		No. of Dv	velling Units	s: 1 🗀	2	3 4	.∐ o	ther——		
Did you own the property	on July 1,? Yes 🗌 N	о 🗌								
<i>If yes, were you</i> : Sole C	wner Co-owner with Sp	ouse Only 🗌 Co	o-owner wi	ith Ot	hers					
Was the property subject to	a trust as of July 1,?	Yes No								
If yes, please attach trust	instrument including all schedule	es.								
	v exemption in any other city or		e) for this ye exempted \$				Io 🗌			
	DISPOSITION OF APPLICAT	TION (ASSESSORS'	USE ONL	Y)						
Ownership	GRANTED As	sessed Tax \$					·			
Occupancy		empted Tax \$								
Status		justed Tax \$								

## Assets Board of Assessors Date Voted/Deemed Denied Certificate No. Date Cert./Notice Sent

Income

Exemption: Clause

Date:

B. EXEMPTION STATUS. Check the status that applied	ies to you and complete the questions that follow.			
BLIND PERSON  Were you legally blind as of July 1,? Yes  Are you registered with Mass. Commission for the Blin  If yes, give Certificate Number  If no, attach a letter from your doctor indicating status as  IF NO OTHER STATUS A	Attach copy of certificate.			
VETERAN				
VETERAN'S SPOUSE	Veteran's Name			
	Was the property the veteran's domicile as of July 1,?  Yes No If no, where does the veteran reside?			
UETERAN'S/SERVICEMEMBER'S/ NATIONAL GUARD MEMBER'S SURVIVING SPOUSE or	Deceased Veteran's/Servicemember's/National Guard member's Name			
SERVICEMEMBER'S SURVIVING PARENT	If first year of application, attach copy of death certificate.  If you are surviving spouse, have you remarried? Yes \(\simega\) No \(\simega\)			
Date Enlisted/Inducted	Date Discharged			
Type of Discharge	If first year of application, attach copy of discharge papers.			
Military Decorations or Awards				
	per live in Massachusetts for at least 6 months before entering the here veteran or member lived during the last 6 years or if deceased, the 6 ssors)			
Address	Dates			
Continue list on attachment in same format as necessary.				
	cation, (1) attach documentation from U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, s where surviving spouse has lived during the last 6 years (2 years if local			
Was the servicemember or national guard member kille	ed or presumed killed in a combat zone? Yes 🔲 No 🗌			
Was the servicemember's or national guard member's or	death a proximate result of a combat injury or disease? Yes $\ \square$ No $\ \square$			
If yes to any of the next 3 questions and If first year of application, attach Certificate of Disability If exemption granted previously, attach certificate only i	y from U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs or branch of service. if disability rating is 100% or has changed.			
Does the veteran have a service-connected disability?	Yes No No			
Has the veteran acquired "specially adapted housing?"	" Yes  No No			
Is the veteran a paraplegic? Yes 🔲 No 🗌				
IF NO OTHER STATUS A	PPLIES TO YOU, GO ON TO SECTION E			

SURVIVING SPOUSE	Deceased Spouse's Name				
	Date of Death				
	Have you remarried? Yes No If yes, date of remarriage				
MINOR WITH PARENT DECEASED	Deceased Parent's Name				
	Date of Death				
If first year of application, attach a copy of	leath certificate.				
Are you a surviving spouse or a minor chi	d of a firefighter or a police officer killed in the line of duty? Yes No				
IF NO, AND NO C	THER STATUS APPLIES TO YOU, GO ON TO SECTION E				
If yes, and this is the first year of application	, provide circumstances of death.				
	GO ON TO SECTION E				
SENIOR 70 OR OLDER (65 or older	hy local ention See Accessors). Date of Birth				
SENIOR 70 OR OLDER (63 of older	by local option- See Assessors) Date of Birth				
Have you owned and occupied the proper	If first year of application, attach copy of birth certificate. by as your domicile for at least 11 years? $Y_{es} \square N_{o} \square$				
(6 years if local option under Clause 41C½ add	oted - See Assessors)				
If no, list the other properties you owned and if local option under Clause 41C½ adopted	or occupied during the past 11 years (6 years)				
Address	Dates Owned Occupied				
Continue list on attachment in same format as necessary.					
	GO ON TO SECTION C				
	RCES IN PRECEDING CALENDAR YEAR. Complete this section if you are a senior returns, and other documentation, may be requested to verify your income.				
	Applicant & Co-owner(s) &				
	Spouse Spouse(s)				
Retirement Benefits (Social Security, Railroad, F					
Other Pensions and Retirement Allowances					
Wages, Salaries and other Compensation					
Net Profits from Business, Profession or Proper	y Rental				
Interest and Dividends					
Other Receipts (Capital Gains, Public Assistance					
	TOTALS				
	GO ON TO SECTION D				

Real Estate	Assessed Valuation	Amount Due on Mortgage	Value	
Domicile				
Other				
Personal Estate				
	Bank Accounts: Name & Address of Bank			
	Stocks, Bonds, Securities, etc.: Description & Amor			
	Motor Vehicles & Trailers: Year, Make & Model			
	Other Non-exempt Personal Property: Kind & Des			
	00.00.70.00	TOTAL		
	GO ON TO SEC	STION E		
E. SIGNATURI	E. Sign here to complete the application.			
	n has been prepared or examined by me. Un owledge and belief, this return and all accor			
Signatur	re	Date		
If signed by age	ent, attach copy of written authorization to sign	on behalf of taxpayer.		

## TAXPAYER INFORMATION ABOUT PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS

**PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS.** You may be eligible to reduce all or a portion of the taxes assessed on your domicile if you meet the qualifications for one of the personal exemptions allowed under Massachusetts law. Qualifications vary, but generally relate to age, ownership, residency, disability, income or assets.

You may be eligible for an exemption if you fall into any of these categories:

- Legally blind person
- Veteran with a service-connected disability
- Surviving spouse of a servicemember or national guard member who died in combat or from combat injury or disease
- Surviving spouse
- Minor child of a deceased parent
- Senior citizen age 70 and older (65 and older by local option)

More detailed information about the qualifications for each exemption may be obtained from your board of assessors.

**WHO MAY FILE AN APPLICATION.** You may file an application if you meet all qualifications for a personal exemption as of July 1. You may also apply if you are the administrator or executor of a person who qualified for a personal exemption on July 1.

WHEN AND WHERE APPLICATION MUST BE FILED. Your application must be filed with the Board of Assessors by December 15 or 3 months after the actual bills were mailed for the fiscal year, whichever is later. An application is filed when (1) received by the assessors on or before the filing deadline, or (2) mailed by United States mail, first class postage prepaid, to the proper address of the assessors, on or before the filing deadline, as shown by a postmark made by the United States Postal Service. THIS DEADLINE CANNOT BE EXTENDED OR WAIVED BY THE ASSESSORS FOR ANY REASON. IF YOUR APPLICATION IS NOT TIMELY FILED, YOU LOSE ALL RIGHTS TO AN EXEMPTION AND THE ASSESSORS CANNOT BY LAW GRANT YOU ONE.

**PAYMENT OF TAX.** Filing an application does not stay the collection of your taxes. In some cases, you must pay the tax when due to appeal the assessors' disposition of your application. Failure to pay the tax when due may also subject you to interest charges and collection action. To avoid any loss of rights or additional charges, you should pay the tax as assessed. If an exemption is granted and you have already paid the entire year's tax as exempted, you will receive a refund of any overpayment.

**ASSESSORS DISPOSITION.** Upon applying for an exemption, you may be required to provide the assessors with further information and supporting documentation to establish your eligibility. The assessors have 3 months from the date your application is filed to act on it unless you agree in writing before that period expires to extend it for a specific time. If the assessors do not act on your application within the original or extended period, it is deemed denied. You will be notified in writing whether an exemption has been granted or denied.

**APPEAL.** You may appeal the disposition of your application to the Appellate Tax Board, or if applicable, the County Commissioners. The appeal must be filed within 3 months of the date the assessors acted on your application, or the date your application was deemed denied, whichever is applicable. The disposition notice will provide you with further information about the appeal procedure and deadline.